Environmental Health & Safety

Contact Us

Address:
Washington State University
Environmental Health and Safety
Corner of Grimes Way & Airport Road
PO Box 641172
Pullman, WA 99164-1172
Telephone:
(509) 335-3041
Fax:
(509) 335-4442
Email:
EHS

Who to Call at EH&S

Contact List and Staff Responsibilities
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Dwight Hagihara,
Executive Director



hagihara@wsu.edu
509-335-3041
Picture of Dwight Hagihara
  • Budget Management
  • Emergency Response
  • Policy Development
  • Continuity of Operations Planning
  • Program Development
  • Sustainability
  • Staff Development
  • Strategic Planning
OPERATIONS
Karen Shaw,
Office Administrator


karen.shaw@wsu.edu
509-335-6099
  • Daily Administrative Functions
  • Financial Planning & Management
  • Budget Management
  • Personnel Management
  • Temporary/Hourly Employment Coordinator
  • Records Management
  • Meetings Secretary

Anna Roberts
Fiscal Technician

anna.d.roberts@wsu.edu
 

509-335-3041

   

  • Daily Administrative Functions
  • Equipment Coordinator
  • Facilities Coordinator
  • Travel Coordinator
  • Reception
RISK MANAGEMENT SERVICES

Gene Young

Assistant Director

gene.young@wsu.edu

509-335-5508

Gene II

  • Risk Management
  • Enterprise Risk Mangement
  • Continuity of Operations Planning

Deb Donning
Risk Manager


deb.donning@wsu.edu

509-335-6893
  • Risk Management
  • Vehicles
  • Insurance
  • Litigation Hold Notices

Pam Merryweather,
Office Assistant

pamerrywx@wsu.edu

509-335-3682
  • Risk Management Assistant
ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES

Jason Sampson

Assistant Director


sampsonj@wsu.edu

509-335-9564

Picture of Jason Sampson
  • Chemical Spill Response
  • Chemical Waste Management
  • Emergency Planning, Community Right-to-Know
  • Oil Spill Prevention
  • Universal Waste Management
  • Sustainablilty
  • Environmental Management Services
John Reed,
Manager
Research Stations


johnreed@wsu.edu

509-335-9565
Picture of John D. Reed
  • Chemical Spill Response
  • Contaminated Site Investigation/Remediation (MTCA)
  • Emergency Management Planning
  • Underground Storage Tank Program
  • Continuity of Operations Planning
  • Research Station ES/PH Coordinator
Don Keon,
Industrial Hygienist


hwt@wsu.edu
509-335-9561
Picture of Don Keon
  • Chemical Spill Response
  • Chemical Waste Management
  • Photographic Waste/Silver Recovery

Amy Speargas Whiteman,
Environmental Control Technician


aspeargas@wsu.edu

509-335-5381

        

  • Sustainability Coordinator
  • Chemical Spill Response
  • Chemical Waste Management
  • Light Bulb and Battery Disposal

Dale Silbernagel,

Environmental Control Technician

silbernagel@wsu.edu

509-335-3563

  

   Dale

  • Chemical Spill Response
  • Chemical Waste Management
  • Light Bulb and Battery Disposal
  • FirstAid/CPR Instructor
Vacant

Environmental Control Technician

email

509-335-0026     
  • Chemical Waste Management
  • Laboratory Safety
OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH & SAFETY

Shawn Ringo
Assistant Director

sringo@wsu.edu

509-335-5251
Shawn
  • General Campus Safety
  • Accident Reporting and Investigation
  • Accident Prevention Programs
  • Hazard Notification & Evaluation
  • Safety Inspections
  • Capital Services Coordinator

Jeff Battaglia,
Industrial Hygienist

jeff-battaglia@wsu.edu

509-335-6429
Picture of Jeff Battaglia
  • Housing and Dining Maintenance Service Safety
  • Accident Investigation
  • OSHA 300 Incident/Accident Reporting
  • Safety Committees
  • Workplace Assessments
  • Bloodborne Pathogen Exposure Control
Chris Baylon,
Industrial Hygienist


baylon@wsu.edu
509-335-9130
Picture of Chris Baylon
  • Respiratory Fit Testing
  • Bloodborne Pathogen Training
  • OHS Equipment Coordinator
Sarah Greer,
Industrial Hygienist


slgreer@wsu.edu
509-335-4360
Picture of Sarah Greer
  • Facilities Services Safety Coordinator
  • Facility Services Safety Trainer
  • Ergonomics
  • Confined Space

Matt McKibbin,
Industrial Hygienist



mrmckibbin@wsu.edu

509-335-5311  
  • Asbestos Management Program Coordinator
  • Lead Management Program Coordinator
  • Asbestos and Lead Capital Services Coordinator
  • Ergonomics

Tom Ebeling,
Industrial Hygienist

tom.ebeling@wsu.edu

509-335-0948        
  • Laboratory Safety
  • Hazard Communication
  • Laser Safety
  • Nanotechnology Safety
  • Chemical Exposure Monitoring

Stephan Gilley

Environmental Control Technician

stephan.gilley@wsu.edu

509-335-5604         Stephan
  • Asbestos and Lead Capital Services
PUBLIC HEALTH / AIR & WATER QUALITY
Gene Patterson,
Manager



gpatters@wsu.edu
509-335-5510
Picture of Gene Patterson
  • Air Quality (Outdoor)
  • Communicable Disease Prevention
  • Drinking Water Quality
  • Food Safety & Sanitation
  • Pest Management
  • Sewage Disposal
  • Solid Waste Disposal/Recycling
  • Stormwater
  • Swimming Pool Safety
  • Water Quality/Wetland Protection
  • Wastewater Management
Marty O'Malley,
Industrial Hygienist




martyo@wsu.edu
509-335-6152
Picture of Marty O'Malley
  • Air Quality (Outdoor)
  • Drinking Water Quality
  • Food Safety & Sanitation
  • Greenhouse Gases
  • Pest Management
  • Sewage Disposal
  • Solid Waste Disposal/Recycling
  • Swimming Pool Safety
  • Water Quality/Wetland Protection
  • Wastewater Management
Environmental Health & Safety, PO Box 641172, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-1172, 509-335-3041, Contact Us